Walter Bargen

Walter Bargen has published nineteen books of poetry, most recently Trouble Behind Glass Doors (BkMk Press, 2013) and Days Like This Are Necessary: New & Selected Poems (BkMk Press, 2009). His newest collection, Too Quick for the Living, will be published by Moon City Press as part of its Missouri Author Series in November 2017. His awards include a National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship and the William Rockhill Nelson Award. He was appointed the first Poet Laureate of Missouri for 2008-2009.

Laura Hendrix Ezell

Laura Hendrix Ezell’s work has appeared in McSweeney’s, The Kenyon Review, Mid-American Review, and The Chapbook. Her debut collection, A Record of Our Debts, won the 2015 Moon City Short Fiction Award. Currently, she lives in Birmingham, Alabama.

Purchase A Record of Our Debts here.

Sarah Freligh

Sarah Freligh is the author of Sad Math, winner of the 2014 Moon City Poetry Award and the 2015 Etchings Press Whirling Prize from the University of Indianapolis. Among her awards are a 2009 Literature Fellowship for poetry from the National Endowment for the Arts and a grant from the Constance Saltonstall Foundation for the Arts in 2006.

Purchase Sad Math here.

Kerri French

Kerri French’s book, Every Room in the Body, won the 2016 Moon City Poetry Award and was published in Fall 2017. Instruments of Summer (2013), her chapbook of poems about Amy Winehouse, is available from dancing girl press. She lives and writes outside of Nashville.

Purchase Every Room in the Body here.

Jeannine Hall Gailey

Jeannine Hall Gailey served as the second Poet Laureate of Redmond, Washington, and is the author of Becoming the Villainess, She Returns to the Floating World, Unexplained Fevers, and The Robot Scientist’s Daughter. Her most recent collection, Field Guide to the End of the World, won the 2015 Moon City Poetry Award. Her work has been featured on NPR’s The Writer’s Almanac, Verse Daily, and The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror. Her poems have appeared in The American Poetry Review, The Iowa Review, and Prairie Schooner.

Purchase Field Guide to the End of the World here.

Trudy Lewis

Trudy Lewis is the author of the novel The Empire Rolls, the first entry in Moon City Press’ Missouri Author Series. She has also published a short-story collection, The Bones of Garbo (Ohio State University Press, 2003), for which she was awarded the Sandstone Prize in Short Fiction, and the novel Private Correspondences (Northwestern University Press, 1994), winner of the William Goyen Award for Fiction. Trudy’s work has appeared in The Best American Short Stories, The Atlantic Monthly, New England Review, Third Coast, and elsewhere.

Purchase The Empire Rolls here.

Kim Magowan

Kim Magowan’s debut collection, Undoing, won the 2017 Moon City Short Fiction Award.

Cate McGowan

Cate McGowan is the author of the story collection True Places Never Are, winner of the 2014 Moon City Short Fiction Award and a finalist for The Lascaux Review‘s 2015 Short Fiction Collection Contest. A Georgia native whose flash has been anthologized in W. W. Norton’s Flash Fiction International and Descansos, she has contributed fiction and poetry to Glimmer Train, Crab Orchard Review, The Louisville Review, and the English fashion magazine Tank.

Purchase True Places Never Are here.

Michelle Ross

Michelle Ross’ debut collection, There’s So Much They Haven’t Told You, won the 2016 Moon City Short Fiction Award. Her fiction has also appeared in The Adroit Journal, The Common, Gulf Coast, Necessary Fiction, Smokelong Quarterly, and other venues. She has an MFA from Indiana University. Originally from Texas, she now lives in Tucson with her husband and son. She also serves as fiction editor for Atticus Review.

Purchase There’s So Much They Haven’t Told You here.

Mary Troy

Mary Troy’s novel Swimming on Hwy N was published as part of Moon City Press’ Missouri Author Series. Mary is a professor at the University of Missouri-St. Louis and is editor of the internationally distributed literary journal Natural Bridge. She is the author of four other books of fiction: the novel Beauties and three collections of short stories: Cookie Lily, The Alibi Cafe and Other Stories, and Joe Baker is Dead. She has won numerous writing awards, including the USA Book Award, the Devil’s Kitchen Award, and a Nelson Algren Award.

Purchase Swimming on Hwy N here.

Steve Yates

A native of Springfield, Missouri, Steve Yates has published two historical novels set in the Ozarks through Moon City Press: Morkan’s Quarry (2010) and its sequel, The Teeth of the Souls (2015). He was the winner of the 2013 Knickerbocker Prize from Big Fiction Magazine for his novella, “Sandy and Wayne.” In April 2017, Unbridled Books published his fifth work of fiction, a novel, The Legend of the Albino Farm. Yates is associate director/marketing director at University Press of Mississippi.

Purchase Morkan’s Quarry here and The Teeth of the Souls here.