Moon City Short Fiction Award

Pablo Piñero Stillmann Wins The 2019 Moon City Short Fiction Award

The editors of Moon City Press would like to congratulate Pablo Piñero Stillmann of Mexico City, Mexico, for being chosen as winner of the 2019 Moon City Short Fiction Award for his collection, Our Brains and the Brains of Miniature Sharks. The author holds an MFA in creative writing from Indiana University. He’s also been the recipient of Mexico’s two top grants for young writers: The Foundation for Mexican Literature (f,l,m) and The National Fund for Culture and Arts (FONCA). His fiction, nonfiction and poetry have appeared in, among other journals, Ninth Letter, Bennington ReviewThe Normal School, The Summerset ReviewThe Rumpus, and Moon City Review. His debut novel, Temblador, was published in 2014 by Conaculta.

The finalists and runners-up of the 2019 competition are as follows:

Andrew Bertaina
Angela Buck
Timothy DeLizza
Emily Doak
JoeAnn Hart
Bradford Kammin: RUNNER-UP
Nathan Oates: RUNNER-UP
Jenn Stroud Rossmann
Marvin Shackelford
Rob McClure Smith

Our Brains and the Brains of Miniature Sharks will be published in 2020 by MCP, and its author will receive the $1,000 prize upon publication.

Moon City’s editors would like to thank everyone who entered this contest for helping to make it so competitive, so great. We received so many fantastic entries, we only wish we could publish more of them alongside this winning book.

The 2020 Moon City Short Fiction Award

The Moon City Short Fiction Award is for an original collection of short fiction written originally in English by a single or collaborative author.

Individual pieces in the collection may be published in periodicals but not yet collected and published in full-length manuscript form.

Entries may include short shorts, short fiction, and/or up to one novella. Please include a table of contents and acknowledgements page.

Open to all writers not associated with Moon City Press or its judges, past or present. Students, employees, and alumni of Missouri State University are ineligible.

Manuscripts should fall between 30,000 and 65,000 words.

Manuscripts should be submitted via Submittable,

A $25 entry fee is due via Submittable at the time of submission; entry fees are nonrefundable.

Simultaneous submissions are permitted, though manuscripts should be withdrawn immediately if accepted elsewhere.

Deadline has been extended to December 15, 2019. Winners will be notified by Summer 2020 and the winner will be published in Spring 2021.

First prize: $1,000, publication by Moon City Press (including international distribution through the University of Arkansas Press), and a standard royalty contract. Ten additional finalists will be named and considered for publication.

For questions, please contact Editor Michael Czyzniejewski at

Past Winners Of The Moon City Short Fiction Award:

2018: Amanda Marbais, Claiming a Body
2017: Kim Magowan, Undoing
2016: Michelle Ross, There’s So Much They Haven’t Told You
2015: Laura Hendrix Ezell, A Record of Our Debts
2014: Cate McGowan, True Places Never Are

All titles are available through the Store page.