Announcing The Finalists For The 2018 Moon City Short Fiction Award

Our editors are happy to send congratulations to the following writers whose collections have been named as finalists in our 2018 Moon City Short Fiction Award competition:

Randall Brown of Wayne, Pennsylvania
Nicole Callihan of Brooklyn, New York
Sarah Freligh of Rochester, New York
Sarah Layden of Indianapolis, Indiana
Erica Plouffe Lazure of Exeter, New Hampshire
Amanda Marbais of Chicago, Illinois
Harmony Neal of St. Paul, Minnesota
Pablo Piñero Stillmann of Mexico City, Mexico
Ann Ryles of Maraga, California
Rachel Swearingen of Chicago, Illinois
Aaron Weiss of Silver Spring, Maryland

Soon, we hope to decide a winner, a writer whose collection will be published this coming spring from Moon City Press. This writer will also receive the $1,000 top prize. We will make that announcement as soon as possible.

Submissions for the 2019 Moon City Short Fiction Award are already open. The deadline is October 1, 2018. You can find more information and submit an entry by visiting

Overall, huge gratitude and congrats to all the writers who entered. We again received more entries than we ever have, making it the hardest competition to judge yet—which we see as an entirely good thing. Long live story!